Step, hop, jump!

Dear reader,

This blog is mainly for friends and family; but just in case you’re just joining me now, I better introduce myself. My name is Alyssa Brodsky, know to many as Alyssa. You should know that I am currently in the honey-moon phase with the dairy world, and I am milkin’ it for what it’s worth! (You might bring up that dairy hasn’t been proven to be some super food and I counter that with two arguments. #1. Cheese. #2. Dairy isn’t just about the product, it’s about the infinite world of possibilities regarding it’s production.) Other than that, I love food (producing, cooking, eating), learning about other cultures, and laughing at mild to terrible jokes.

I have diagnosed myself with a healthy level of patriotism and an extreme build up of curiosity, and with that I inform you that I  am seeking care by going to join the Peace Corps in Madagascar! I’ll be training for a position as an agro-ecological business advisor. The description is quite broad but I will say that it seems to be working in the complex and exciting nexus of where food production meet environmental conservation meets livelihood generation. Amazing! I received my degree in Animal Sciences but spent two heinous years in the College of Business, so I hope that my foundation is helpful when learning about the Malagasy way of life, agriculture, and everything else. (kidding about the heinous thing, jeez).

I have a plethora of motivations for embarking on this journey, but for brevity’s sake I will mention just one. It does, however, need some assistance from Douglas Adams, the author of Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. In the series, two characters living in London, Arthur and Fenchurch, learn to fly. Only naturally, they make love while in the air. A Boeing 747 crops up and an elderly woman flips up the plane window, witnessing Arthur and Fenchurch. This is her response:

“She was mostly immensely relieved to think that virtually everything that anybody had ever told her was wrong.”

To me, there is relief to finding out the true facts of life are few and far between. I’ve realized recently that cross-examining the status quo and rejecting convention are traits that all of the people I look up to carry. Agriculture and wildlife habitats don’t have to be mutually exclusive. Hunger as we see it today does not have to persist. I felt relief when I realized those things, despite the enormous amount of learning ahead! I can’t wait to see what else come my way to challenge what I know and what I believe.

Feel free to join me as I update this blog along the way with poop jokes and whatever else people blog about. Don’t expect relevant titles and you’ll be fine!

Finally, a quick shout out to my parents, sisters, and friends that helped me prepare. I couldn’t have done it without you. I feel such happiness to know all of you!

Infinite love,

Alyssa

One thought on “Step, hop, jump!

  1. Every time you write I find more reasons I’m inspired by you!

    “To me, there is relief to finding out the true facts of life are few and far between.” that is definitely a quote to hang up in my office.

    Love you, be safe, keep writing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

